Researcher of the Year

Recognizing Innovative Military Medical Research

Established by Geneva’s Scientific Advisory Board in 2014, the Researcher of the Year award is presented to a researcher who exemplifies Geneva’s mission of advancing innovative medical research within the U.S. military, for the benefit of U.S. service members and veterans, their families, and the global community.

2021 Researcher of the Year

LTC (Ret) Christopher Colombo, MD

Critical care military physician and telemedicine researcher LTC (Ret.) Christopher Colombo, MD, FACP, FCCM is the 2021 Researcher of the Year in recognition of his impactful solutions to emerging threats and emergency response efforts. He also leads Geneva-managed projects including the development of a National Emergency Tele-Critical Care Network (NETCCN) which supported 35+ hospitals during the Covid-19 pandemic.


2020 Researcher of the Year

Kenneth Cameron, PhD, MPH, ATC

Dr. Cameron is the Director of Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Research at Keller Army Community Hospital and has made a substantial impact in the areas of injury prevention, musculoskeletal injury and disease epidemiology, and outcomes associated with the treatment of these injuries, specifically in physically active and military populations.


2019 Researcher of the Year

Andriy Batchinsky, MD

As a Geneva Principal Investigator and Manager of the Extracorporeal Life Support (ECLS) Capability Area at the U.S. Army Institute of Surgical Research, Dr. Batchinsky is pursuing ground-breaking treatments for the management of acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), and the prevention of single-and multi-organ failure.


2018 Researcher of the Year

MAJ (Ret) Mary McCarthy, PhD

MAJ (Ret.) Dr. McCarthy, Senior Nurse Scientist at Madigan Army Medical Center, is focused on the vital role that nutrition plays in the overall health of service members. Her skills and expertise as a clinical nurse, a research nurse, and a nurse scientist, have enabled her to contribute significantly to the development and implementation of impactful and translational nursing research efforts.


2017 Researcher of the Year

Vincent Ho, MD

Dr. Ho’s research focuses on non-invasive methods for vascular imaging, tissue characterization, functional assessment, image-guided therapy/drug delivery, and bioprinting. Dr. Ho currently leads the USU-4D Bio3 Center for Biotechnology. He is also Professor, Chair of the Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences at Uniformed Services University, and Chief of Radiology Services at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center.


2016 Researcher of the Year

John M. Dye, Jr, PhD

Dr. Dye, Chief of Viral Immunology, U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases, oversees the execution of research programs in medical countermeasures against viral biological warfare agents in a high-hazard, multi-suite, bio-containment laboratory that operates at Biosafety Levels 2, 3, and 4. His research focuses on filovirus vaccines and therapeutics, with the ultimate aim to counteract the Ebola virus and other high-risk pathogens.


2015 Researcher of the Year

LTC (Ret) Luis Alvarez, PhD

As Founding Principal Investigator, Regenerative Biology Research Group, U.S. National Cancer Institute and Director, Center for Molecular Science in the Department of Chemistry and Life Science at U.S. Military Academy at West Point, Dr. Alvarez is leading innovative research in developing biologics and cell therapies in regenerative medicine. His research interests are motivated by his previous combat experiences and a desire to develop new regenerative medical therapies for injured service members.


2014 Researcher of the Year

LTC Vikhyat Bebarta, MD

Dr. Bebarta has partnered with Geneva on research projects in the areas of emergency medicine, combat casualty care, and toxicology. He is the Chief of Medical Toxicology, Department of Emergency Medicine at San Antonio Military Medical Center.