20 May 2024

LTC (Ret.) Stephen DeLellis, PA-C Inducted into Inaugural Class of Special Operations Forces Medical Hall of Honor

Raleigh, NC – LTC (Ret.) Stephen DeLellis, PA-C, Executive Director of The Geneva Foundation’s Fort Liberty Research Institute, has been honored as one of nine medical leaders inducted into the inaugural class of the Special Operations Forces Medical Hall of Honor at the 2024 Special Operations Medical Association (SOMA) Scientific Assembly.

With a distinguished career spanning over 36 years on active duty, including more than 31 years with Army Special Operations Forces, LTC (Ret.) DeLellis has been deployed sixteen times across six separate conflicts. He concluded his military service as the Deputy Command Surgeon for the United States Army Special Operations Command (USASOC) and previously managed the longest continuously funded traumatic brain injury project in Department of Defense history. DeLellis has partnered with Geneva since 2019, and currently serves as the Executive Director of the Fort Liberty Research Institute and Senior Technical Director.

The United States Special Operations Command (USSOCOM) Office of the Command Surgeon (SOCS-SG) established the Special Operations Forces Medical Hall of Honor to recognize leaders who have demonstrated exceptional medical leadership and service within the Special Operations Forces (SOF) community. Inductees have made significant contributions that have enhanced the quality of life for SOF units and embody the highest ethical and medical standards, reflecting the spirit, values, and skills of an SOF warrior and health professional.

The induction ceremony was presided over by Lieutenant General Francis L. Donovan, Vice Commander, USSOCOM, who presented the Medical Hall of Honor medallion to each inductee. Alongside LTC (Ret.) DeLellis, the Class of 2024 includes SGM (Ret.) F.Y. Bowling, CAPT (Ret.) Frank K. Butler, CWO4 (Ret.) William D. Donovan, COL (Ret.) Warner D. Farr, CPT (Ret.) James C. Fisher, COL (Ret.) Russ S. Kotwal, MSG (Ret.) Harold R. Montgomery, and COL (Ret.) Robert L. Mabry.

Upon receiving the award, LTC (Ret.) DeLellis remarked, “It is an absolute honor to be recognized alongside true military-medical thought leaders, innovators, and trendsetters. I am humbled to be able to stand among them.”

Disclaimer: The views expressed do not reflect the official policy of the Army, the Department of Defense, or the U.S. Government.

Lieutenant General Francis L. Donovan, Vice Commander, USSOCOM (left) presents Special Operations Forces Medical Hall of Honor plaque to LTC (Ret.) Stephen DeLellis, PA-C